Alpha Chi Omega – Alumni

This past December I went “Alum” from Alpha Chi Omega, my sorority at CMU. I put alum in parenthesis because I not officially alum. I was actively involved in Alpha Chi Omega for the fall semester but, at the beginning of the fall semester, Alpha Chi Omega headquarters made some changes to the bylaws, specifically about granting alumni status. I had always been under the impression that when I started my internship, I would be able to go alum. However, the new bylaws stated that as long as you were still enrolled in a University or college and taking more than 12 credits you could not go alum. Although I was not taking any classes for the spring semester, my internship counts as 15 credits per semester, therefore I was not going to be allowed to go alum. I felt really hurt when I found out, and angry because it had changed weeks before I applied to go alum and girls before me had gone alum for internships. I was at a loss, I knew with all the events and travel of my internship that I wouldn’t be able to attend any of the Alpha Chi meetings, events or requirements. I thought my only option was to drop because I wasn’t willing to pay a large amount of money for something that I wouldn’t be involved in at all.

I went in to meet with the Alpha Chi E-board to tell them I had made my decision to drop. As soon as I walked in and sat down I instantly broke down into tears. That completely took me by surprise, I was not expecting to get that upset. But I had given two years to this organization, I had found best friends, created countless memories and saw myself grow as a person. It felt like I was quitting and not leaving the organization how I wanted. I was so close to becoming an alumni and by dropping I would be giving up my membership for the rest of my life. The great thing about Alpha Chi Omega is that once you go alum, you are a sister for life, and you don’t have to pay which is very uncommon. After explaining my situation, the girls on the E-board better understood why I felt like dropping was my only option. A regional consultant was there at the meeting because she was visiting our chapter for the week. She made a great point, that by dropping I was giving up AXO connections for the future. I know that I want to continue planning events at another University and that will most likely require that I move to another state. It would be so beneficial to be able to connect with AXO sisters in another state for networking and friendships. Thankfully, I was able to work something out with the E-board. I was granted educational status, meaning I was not required to attend anything, I could attend anything I chose to, I could go through the alum banquet ceremony in December and my price would be drastically reduced.

It was the best outcome possible other than being granted alum status. I was not required to attend anything but I could choose if I wanted to be present for initiation, big little reveal, formal, etc. The price was more reasonable and I could still go through banquet in December because I was worried that I wouldn’t be able to attend the banquet in April if I had a work event on the same day. The only catch was that I couldn’t go through Hall of Commitment which is the official alum ceremony. I can go through the ceremony at any banquet in the future that I’m able to attend. Thankfully, I will be able to attend the ceremony in April and then will be officially alum!!

Reflecting back on Alpha Chi Omega – what has it brought me:

  • I’ve learned how to communicate with a variety of girls who each communicate in their own way
  • I am a professional at making garlic bread (we do an annual fundraiser where we sell tickets for a spaghetti dinner and then proceeds are donated to the Women’s Aide Shelter)
  • I can craft just about anything at at least a mediocre level
  • A little who has helped me grow and challenges me to be a better person
  • A big that showed me kindness and support even when I was at my lowest
  • Sisters who support me through every single emotion and experience
  • The affirmation that I will end the cycle of domestic violence
  • A network of real, strong, women
  • Learning how to laugh at myself and be kind to myself when I make mistakes
  • A new perspective on sorority girls and women in general
  • 2 years of unforgettable memories with some of the best people I’ve ever met

As my time in Alpha Chi has come to a close, I’m nothing but grateful for the sisters who brought me in as an unsure, clueless sophomore and helped me grow into the person I am today. Last night, I found a letter that I wrote to myself when I first joined Alpha Chi Omega and sealed. I was given it back at my Alum banquet in December but completely forgot to open it until I was cleaning out a purse last night and found it unopened. I wrote that I hoped I had found amazing friends, took every chance possible and gained knowledge on Domestic Violence Awareness. At the end of the letter I wrote, “you are passionate, kind, intelligent and brave. I am proud of you and the person you have grown to be.” I have Alpha Chi Omega to thank for that.

XO AXO

 

 

 

One thought on “Alpha Chi Omega – Alumni

Add yours

  1. AOII has a similar thing with us called Special Status in which we usually are only required to pay international dues – but there are two different levels. Our chapter also had it’s own special status as well, but it was only used if the Executive Board denied a special Status. Going Early Alum as we call it didn’t usually work unless for extremely serious cases, though if you are fifth year senior then you are allowed to choose between staying an active or going alum.

    It’s always a difficult decision between the two, but I’m glad that a solution was found so you didn’t have to give up your Greek Life home!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑